Posted by: molander | September 7, 2009

Inspiration and Information

I tend to get my inspiration from 1) striving for a goal and 2) culling information.

Our goal is simple. We want to be happy and healthy older people because we have 3 children. Having lost my daddy to cancer when I was 14, and then having to deal with an aging, ill mother during my young 20s, I know for a fact I don’t want my children to be subjected to that. To make matters worse, our youngest is 9 years younger than our middle child. For him, we’re “older parents”. That’s OK as long as we’re not OLD parents and guess what — it’s within our control to a great extent.

Information: In order to achieve the goal, we had to know exactly what we needed to do and (in my case) WHY we needed to do it. I knew a good bit about nutrition already but we weren’t implementing it as we should and our health reflected that. Tucker and I both had some pounds we needed to shed, both our cholesterol* numbers were high and he was put on medication, he spent the night in the hospital with chest pressure even AFTER he’d been going to the gym for 6 months! Clearly, we were not going to achieve our goal at this rate. More research was required.

That’s how this blog came to be. A simple collection of information for my family and friends regarding the changes we’ve made and the successes we’ve enjoyed so far. So if you’re just getting started, what’s your inspiration?

*Cholesterol – more info to come on this. The conventional medical explanation leaves much to be desired.

Leave a Reply

Categories

