Posted by: molander | January 17, 2010

Clean Reading

Stack of BooksNo, I’m not going on a tangent about dirty magazines but rather suggesting two periodicals that have to do with clean livin’ (aka healthy lifestyle in this context).

I do A LOT of reading to keep up with this healthy mission I’m on. I currently have 3 books I’m in the process of finishing. I read several periodicals that come on a monthly or bi-monthly basis. I receive a host of health-related newsletters in my inbox. There’s the constant flow of health news tweeting at me on Twitter complete with links for more online reading. And then there’s the nutrition research for special conditions that I do for students and/or friends. It’s a lot, but I love every minute of it.

I explained to a friend recently (Hey, Becca!) that there are 2 types of “get-healthy” people. 1) Those who love to learn all they can to understand the ins, the outs, the whys of choosing a healthy lifestyle and 2) those who say, “just tell me what to do and I’ll do it.” For those who may possibly fall somewhere in between, I’d like to suggest two of my favorite magazines:

1) Clean Eating – obviously centered around eating good food; recipes; kitchen tool reviews; interviews with experts

2) Prevention – a plethora of information about the healthy living in general; health, nutrition, beauty, fitness, recipes

Over and over again I’m amazed at how complex the human body is and how well it runs on so little maintenance. Since we didn’t come with a user’s manual, the best we can do is take a little time to learn how to care for it properly.

xxxxx 1) Amazing: how every system works in harmony with the other systems when all is going well

xxxxx 2) Amazing: how the body tries its best to compensate when conditions are less than ideal

xxxxx 3) Amazing: how the body continues to work for us even when we have no regard for its care

Note that I am in no way affiliated with either of these magazines. I just think they’re great and wanted to share!
Responses

  1. I am definetly person 2. I read constantly to prepare for sermons, classes, etc. Soi this is one area i prefer to get my info straight from the horses mouth. Not that you’re a horse of course.

    Seriously, I am stuck. Just stay the course and know that eventually the weight will start coming off again?

    • Yes… and no. Usually there’s a reason one “gets stuck” on a plateau. One of the surest cures is to shake the body up a bit! You know… keep it guessing. Sometimes it seems to get comfortable with what you’re doing (“no feast nor famine so we’re cool”). Shooting from the hip here since I don’t the details of what you’re doing:

      1) Be sure to keep logging what you’re eating. It’s easy to go over that calorie allowance. Added benefit to log commitment: Sometimes I won’t stick the crusts of Thomas’ sandwich in my mouth just because it’s too much trouble to log it!
      2) CHANGE your workout in some way. If you normally run, then bike or do a workout DVD or Wii Fit or [fill in the blank]. Key thing is to keep your body guessing.
      3) Get as many non-food items out of your diet as possible. (Chemicals, preservatives, additives.) Your metabolism is much more efficient when it knows what to do with an item you consume. It’s totally confused by the stuff God didn’t create and gets those hormones out of whack. (And this I truly know from experience. Before the holidays (I’ve gained 2.5 lbs over holidays… ugh) the fat just melted without added effort because we were eating so very clean!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

